

Wine Victoria AGM Meeting 2017 Minutes of Meeting

4:00pm - 5:30pm November 15, 2017

Level 27, South Tower, Rialto, 525 Collins St Melbourne VIC 3000

Attendees:

- Damien Sheehan Chair
- Ross Wilson Treasurer
- Tom Carson Board Member
- Angie Bradbury Board Member
- Cecelia Burgman Board Member
- Nikki Palun Board Member
- Gerry Ryan Board Member
- Tim Shand Regional Council Representative, Yarra Valley
- Ian Hopkins Regional Council Representative, Heathcote
- Rory Lane Regional Council Representative, Grampians
- Ken Eckersley Regional Council Representative, Gippsland
- Alison Lloyd Executive Officer, King Valley
- Richard Howden Executive Officer, Yarra Valley
- Franco D'Anna Regional Association Member, Yarra Valley
- Natalie Kuivanen
- Max Dow

Apologies:

- Jon Evans Board Member
- Alex King Board Member
- Michael Dal Zotto Regional Council, King Valley
- Mike Stone Regional Council, Murray Valley
- Daniel Balzer Regional Council, Beechworth
- Wes Vine Regional Council, Bendigo
- Guido Vazzoler Regional Council, Goulburn Valley
- Tim Ploschke Regional Council, Upper Goulburn
- Michael Reid Regional Council, Glenrowam
- Mike Symons Regional Council, Mornington Peninsula
- Scott Austin Reigonal Council, Geelong
- Natalie Ajay Regional Council, Rutherglen
- Fleur Lankesheer



1. Welcome and Minutes of Previous AGM

The Wine Victoria (WV) Chair, Damien Sheehan welcomed the Board, Regional Council representatives, Executive Officers, and additional attendees. The Chair welcomed new Board Members. The minutes from the WV AGM 2017 were tabled and agreed on as an accurate record.

2. Chair's report

Damien Sheehan, Wine Victoria Chair provided his annual 2017 Chair's report.

The full report/speech can be found here: <u>Wine Victoria 2017 Annual</u> <u>AGM Chair's Speech</u>.

3. Treasurer's report

The WV Treasurer, Ross Wilson tabled the end of year finances (2016-17), presenting the Profit and Loss Statement and Balance Sheet as at 30 June 2017. The Treasurer noted:

• For the 2016-17 FY WV made a profit of \$8,753 and had an equity position of \$30,377

The report was endorsed by all attendees. The full financial reports can be found here: <u>Wine Victoria Financial Statements 2016-17 FY</u>.

4. Year in Review

Damien Sheehan, Wine Victoria Chair outlined achievements and current undertakings of WV for the 2017 year. The following was discussed:

- Wine Industry Development Strategy
- Wine Growth Fund
- Cellar Door Rebate
- Wine Equalisation Tax reform
- \$50 million Export and Regional Wine Support Package
- Somms (50) of the World delegation
- China and US Spring Road Shows
- Communication Agreements on Planned Burns
 - Still an area which will require attention every fire season



- Engagement on new 3-year environment Memorandum of Understanding (MOU)
- Growing recognition of the benefits of the wine industry
- Increased industry collaboration

5. Future focus of Wine Victoria for 2018

Damien Sheehan, Wine Victoria Chair, delivered a presentation on the future focus for Wine Victoria going forward in 2018. The presentation covered the following points:

- Increasing scope of Wine Victoria
- Recommitment of Victorian government / Wine Australia / trade MOU
- Secure 3 year environment MOU
- Apply \$1 million to 4 key tourism platforms
- Business case for WV
- Preparation for 2018 election
- Wine Victoria levy
- Cellar Door Rebate
- 2018 election:
- General comments
 - Focus on tourism shown through Wine Equalisation Tax (WET) reform, and further industry involvement to improve tourism is required
 - Industry should start to invest in tourism experiences and product development, such as wine tastings
 - The wine and health agenda is uncertain and WV still needs to respond to issues regarding labelling
 - Need for those present at AGM to act as ambassadors for WV, speaking directly to regions to garner traction and support

The full presentation can be found here: <u>Future Focus of Wine Victoria</u> for 2018.

6. Goodbye to Damien

Treasurer Ross Wilson delivered the farewell speech to Chair Damien Sheehan, thanking him for his time, advocacy engagement and achievements in his time as Chair.



7. Welcome to Angie Bradbury

Chair Damien Sheehan introduced the new Chair Angie Bradbury.

There being no further business, the meeting was closed at 5:14pm.